north updates

North has been up for almost two months now and there is a steady stream of people visiting the sim. It is not yet listed in the Second Life Destination guide, which to me is a good thing since it would ultimately just bring large crowds of visitors, something I am hoping to avoid. The North Flickr group is flourishing and pics are posted daily. I take great pleasure in seeing how you experience and interpret with your photographs North and, truthfully, every time I see a new image posted my heart beats a little faster. I will continue posting the five North Friday Pics on the board next to the skateboard rink and announce them via the North inworld group every week.

I would like to continue keeping North simple. I am reluctant to bombard visitors with messages when they arrive at the landing point and thus just provide the most basic information. People who have joined the North inworld group for rezz rights have mostly been great at removing their objects when done. Thank you for that. Some of you have asked me why there is no “tip jar” and the answer is that I am not looking for donations. I want people to enjoy the environment without feeling pressured to pay.

Moving forward I would like to work on getting a proper North windlight and also a unique North music stream. As many of you know, I am itching to transform the sim for winter! I already started removing and adding little things here and there, but there will be a major transformation in a few weeks. I will then close the sim for a week or two. The North foundation will remain the same, but I imagine the general ambience will end up being a bit more raw and austere.

Photograph by Kate Bergdorf

One thought on “north updates

Leave a Reply

