Arachnid

1

I haven’t been inworld for a few days and there is a lot of catching up to do. One of my first stops is the new installation Arachnid by Cica Ghost. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, Arachnid is defined as any of a class (Arachnida) of arthropods comprising chiefly terrestrial invertebrates, including the spiders, scorpions, mites, and ticks, and having a segmented body divided into two regions of which the anterior bears four pairs of legs but no antennae. Like many of us, I am someone who will quickly jump on top of the kitchen table should I spot one of these arachnids. I felt similarly as I was wandering around Cica’s installation this morning; several huge, brooding spiders lurk throughout this dark sim and I kept a safe distance. It occurred to me eventually that this installation is not really only about spiders though, but rather the threat that they represent. On this sim, placed amongst barren and knotty trees, are also several enclosed cages with metal bars, symbolizing perhaps a sense of entrapment. I found the cage with the three dolls rotating on little platforms inside it particularly magical and beautiful (see above). As always, there are many objects to click and sit on here. Also, remember to turn on the music, which I think contributes to the experience.

Photograph by Kate Bergdorf

One thought on “Arachnid

Leave a Reply

