Crestwick

1As the reader who regularly reads this blog knows, I tried to visit the beautiful Crestwick Island the other day but was distracted by The Broad Street Gallery, located close to the town landing point, and didn’t get very far. Almost the same thing happened today, this time with a book store, Saffronia’s Used Books. I could have spent hours in that used book store!  Luckily, I was not alone and was pulled away and we could continue on our way.

2I haven’t been this impressed by a place in Second Life in a really long time. Crestwick falls in the same category as other stellar Second Life locations like Roche, Basilique, and, the now unfortunately no longer existing, The Colder Water. One can immediately sense that a lot of love, effort and time have been invested into the making of this little town and its surroundings. I know how hard it is to put something like this together, I’ve spoken about it before in this blog when I was working on Leka; there is a constant struggle to find a way to make something different and personal. Most sims look the same. But the creators of Crestwick, Isa Messioptra and Cipher (Ciphertazi Wandin), have succeeded in creating something unique and very cool.

3

I think it is safe to say that Crestwick is full of surprises. And I am not just saying that. I will not get into it too much here; I don’t want to spoil it so you have to find out for yourselves. The attention to detail in this place is remarkable; winding country roads, careful placed trees and seating areas, adorable little stores and street corners. I also really like the layout of the sim itself; there is a seamless integration of the town, countryside and water areas that works well. The ground textures are really, really good. I could go on and on. What ultimately also makes this place work so well I think is that it is a lot of fun and there is plenty of interaction between people visiting. I know I spoke to at least five people I had never spoken to before today and I can’t remember when that last happened in a Second Life location like this. Head over and take a look if you haven’t already.

4Photographs by Kate Bergdorf

4 thoughts on “Crestwick

Leave a Reply

