The Importance of Flickr

Snapshot_002I am quite overcome by Flickr at the moment. I didn’t use to be. I had created an account several years ago and it just sat there. I didn’t really get what all the hype was about. I remember thinking even that it was just a futile narcissistic exercise; a repetitive posting of images of the self, propelled by a staggering amounts of “likes.” And maybe that is part of what it is, but it is certainly not all. There are at least two noteworthy reasons that make Flickr important for us in the virtual world; one is communication and the other one is art. Communication in Second Life is about expression with images and with Flickr we have discovered another way to communicate in this way. Flickr has become an extension of Second Life itself. In terms of art, there is a new kind of art being expressed and developed on Flickr. I think there are still no obvious guidelines and only very little sense of what kind of direction this new art photography form will take. But it is there.

Photograph by Kate Bergdorf

6 thoughts on “The Importance of Flickr

  1. I totally agree, the new art form that is developing is fluid, I can not wait to see where it goes.

  2. Kate, if you have any suggestions for using Flickr effectively and efficiently, I would love-love-love to read them! I initially set up some of my group pools into RSS feeds, but they were updating really sporadically and incompletely, so I ended up unsubscribing and now I just use the site, but it feels like it would take ages to visit every group and browse every pool. Any tips you can share would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

  3. Hi, Ever- thanks for commenting on this post. I am fairly new to Flickr myself, so I am still learning too. Seems like connecting with people who’s images you like is a start; anytime they add a new image it will be posted in your “people” stream and it is easy to track and like. Good luck! ~Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

